Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So, I know I promised to post a couple of recipes on how to make different types of healthy smoothies. I still will do that, but first, I wanted to throw an idea at you of a cool little snack that you can make for your pooch. What better way is there to really connect with your pup other than by sharing some ice cream on an especially hot day like today?

 

It’s funny… a conductor on the train planted the seed for this post. Tigger was lying on the floor of the car, all cuddled up under my seat, when the conductor stopped by to ask if he was too hot. I said that he was alright, and then somehow, we started talking about how ice cubes are the go-to when your dog is lying on the kitchen floor, trying to cool down, but can’t. All the sudden, he filled me in on a secret homemade recipe. Apparently, he makes ice cream for his puppy every night so that he is able to share a treat with his friend every morning for breakfast. I thought this was a brilliant idea so I asked him what he did to make it dog-friendly as well as still look and taste like ice cream. He said to just cut up some bananas and put them on a raw-hide stick. Then he said to add some blueberries, strawberries, and any other fruits that you think your fluff ball might enjoy! He mentioned something about mixing all of the ingredients with some water to ensure that it would freeze.

Unsure of whether I got all of the details right from his brief version, I actually looked up a recipe for Strawberry Banana Popsicle Dog Treats. Check it out here. It’s still surprisingly easy! Who knew that a slight change to the original method could solve the tasteless ice cube problem?

After this guy got me thinking, I began looking up similar recipes to see what other fun snacks I could prepare for Tigger in order to get him through a long day of work. It only took a couple of minutes of browsing before I discovered another recipe that makes frozen peanut butter treats. All you need is half a mashed up banana, some water, and unsweetened and unsalted peanut butter. Mix 1 cup of peanut butter and a half mashed banana together, adding a tiny bit of water, and put table spoons of the mixture in an ice cube tray. Same goes for this one: store in the freezer until they feel firm.

I looked on amazon and found these really cool ice cube trays that might make this recipe even more paw-some than it already is. Instead of a standard ice tray, these are silicone paw shaped molds that are perfect to bake with or store in the freezer. I can’t wait to try these at home and watch Tigg devour a refreshing and tasty little icy serving that will surely cool him down right away. This will be an-ice surprise to finish off the day after he’s had his fun in the sun! Not to mention, you can eat these too since they’re way healthier than regular ice cream, which is usually packed with artificial flavoring and other ingredients that can be detrimental to your health. Just don’t forget to replace the raw hides with real Popsicle sticks or else it will not be a so-fun end to your day. I’ll keep you updated with pics whenever I get a chance to grab some bananas and peanut butter from the grocery store on my way home from work. If you get a chance to make these before me, let me know what did and didn’t work for you in the comments below.

 

