Tags

, , , , ,

10/26/2016 (Wed) 10:00am-10:30am

Hello lovelies!!! It’s been so long I’ve missed posting on here! It’s just that with all the midterms, projects, and research papers I’ve barely had time to get my nails done, never mind sitting down to write a blog post. Priorities, right?? 😉

Well, when I actually got the time to pick up my lap top I was at a loss as to what to write about. Part of me wishes that something eventful happens so that I could have this big story to tell all of you, but unfortunately, my life isn’t that exciting right now. So the topic I’ve chosen for today is a question that I’ve been getting a lot lately. One of the first things that people usually ask me, if it’s not my dog’s name, is how I manage to pick out such fashionable outfits.

First, I will share a secret with you all: I haven’t always been able to wake up every morning and feel good about what I put on. Especially not in high school! Quite t he contrary actually, I used to throw on baggy hoodies and jeans because I mean that’s as easy as it gets. What matches better than a random color for the top and some jeans? Dressing down was something I always did back then, but I never even remotely enjoyed it . I woke up grumpy every morning and resented going to school; I went to a very privileged and predominantly White high school lacking in any kind of diversity. Everyone always looked so put together, wearing labels from Abercrombie and haulister with their Coach bags and preppy girl accessories, and then there was me. I didn’t really develop a sense of style until college and let me tell you why.

One of the questions you may have as you’re reading this is why I never had friends to do high school girlie things with, or friends to go shopping with. Well, I guess my answer to that would be that I just didn’t. People at my high school were afraid of difference and decided that it was better to avoid it rather than approach it, but that’s a story for a different day. No hard feelings towards that, their loss I guess.

Anyways, college was life changing for me!! When I got to Bridgewater, I made real friends who are so super accepting and really fun to go out with!! I always thought that even if I had people to go shopping with, it would be totally awkward because it would be a one way streak. I assumed that they would help me pick out clothes and I wouldn’t be able to help them pick out or compliment theirs. This is literally so not the case: when we go shopping it’s a blast. We talk about anything and everything, we try on different outfits, they are honest with mine, and I feel them up and tell them how cute they look. 😉 No, but in all seriousness, I only have a couple of friends who I trust to be completely and utterly honest with me, and that is the most important thing when I pick out my clothes. I need to go with someone who I know is going to tell me if I look totally horrible in something, or if I just have to get this one thing even if it’s way out of my price range. I need these type of opinionated friends who have a sense for my style because I really don’t like wasting my time or money on something that I’m never going to wear. And trust me, I will find out if something looks awful and I will return it.

So, that’s the first step. The next thing that I do in order to pick out outfits is I get things that I know will always go together. For example, jeans and black leggings go with almost anything, if I wear a patterned top I can’t wear patterned bottoms and vice versa. I usually get neutral colors for cardigans and jackets so that they will go with any color top. Most of the time I don’t need to tag any of my clothes since they all tend to feel different, unless they are all t-shirts. There are ways to label clothes and I’m thinking of doing it when I’m feeling particularly adventurous and want to go with a tackier and more risky outfit. I will keep you guys updated if that is the case. Although I rarely use it, there are color identifier apps where if i take a picture of a piece of clothing it will read out the color. Over time, I’ve figured out that I like my clothes to be more on the dressy side, and so I will shop at stores like Charlotte Russe, Express, American eagle, Forever 21, ETC. The more pricey stores tend to always have people who are willing to provide assistance if I ever go shopping alone.

The next precaution I take is to ask the person who I’m with if the new top that I got will match with … pants that I have at home, and that … cardigan. My friends have all probably looked through my closet at least a hundred times, and if they don’t know what I’m talking about I will just ask someone when I get back to my dorm. Eventually, I get a feel for all of my clothes, but as I get ready to go out and I’m with my friends they will usually tell me what else looks cute with the jacket or Cammie that I just got.

To end this off, I have to say that I would not be at this point without my friends. I would never have developed my own sense of style, I would not know what to look for when I go exploring on my own, I would not be able to dress the way that I do! Thanks guys, you are my number one supporters, not just with shopping, but with literally everything! I don’t know where I would be without you!!! My friends are everything I never thought I would have, and better than anything I could have ever imagined! They are some of the most fun, most accepting, honest, and spontaneous people in the world! They allowed me to grow into myself in so many ways and I can’t thank them enough for that!

If I were to give one piece of advice, it would be to surround yourself with people who are positive, make you feel good, and will never bring you down. People who can be honest without being hurtful, and people who you can give back to and they will accept it. There is nothing worse than asking for help, and then the person not accepting your help the next time they need it. Choose your friends wisely because if you make the right ones, you will never be alone. I truly believe that is one of the key things to living a happy and care free life. This blog post is primarily on shopping, but that is not in anyway all that my friends and I do together. Fashion is not everyone’s thing, and that’s totally understandable. I just like it for a number of reasons that I will write about in one of my upcoming posts! Also, in terms of clothes, gradually it will get easier to pick out outfits because you will get a sense for what you like, what looks good on you, ETC. I have to say that I do not by any means look fancy all the time, and there are still days that I resort to my basic hoody jean look. But thanks to all the support I have I am finally able to completely choose my daily outfits on my own. This is probably not the case when I am getting ready for a party, but come on, who gets ready alone anyway? What do you guys think about all of this? What is your definition of living life to the fullest? What outfits are some of your favorites? What should I post about next? Please, please comment and share!!!

Until next time!

Z 🙂

